Maulin Race 30th June 1999

Report by Douglas Barry

Noel Berkeley (DSD) held off the intense pressure heaped upon him by <u>Deon</u> <u>McNeilly</u> to win the Maulin race in a new record time. In an 8K race that had a frisson of excitement about it from the start, the leading protagonists, which included internationals Paul Nolan and Gerry McGrath, forced the pace up the steep ride that heads up through the forest to the bald open summit of Maulin mountain overlooking Glencree in Co. Wicklow.

McNeilly - winner of the previous week's Howth race and a former British cross country champion - pushed hard up the latter half of the climb with Berkeley closely shadowing him. As the leading pair shaped up to each other, Gerry McGrath, a former Belfast marathon winner, who had stuck to them earlier, drifted off the furious pace set by the Newcastle man and Berkeley - the current 10,000 track champion.

McNeilly - winner of the Irish Championship race at Flagstaff - led at the summit and Berkeley had to bide his time on the initial descent. A few hundred metres later as the ground levelled, he pushed hard and overtook Deon on the ridge leading to the short southerly drop towards the Wicklow Way and the infant Dargle river. However, a loss of concentration while looking for the sharp turn into the Way ensured that the determined Newcastle runner grabbed the lead back.

Berkeley powered past again on the fast descent overlooking Powerscourt waterfall, but Deon looked full of fight as he closed again on a vulnerable looking DSD runner as they swept past us on the descent from Ride Rock. However, it was the Newcastle man who eventually yielded as Berkeley took the win in a record time of 32 minutes 34 seconds. Both Noel and Deon were under the 1992 record of 33.05 held by former international Gerry Brady.

In the women's race, another interesting battle between Laura McGinley (Raheny) and Ajax's Joan Flanagan was resolved in favour of the Raheny runner. Laura drew out a good lead on the climb, but Joan clawed back her advantage to a few metres on the descent, but couldn't close completely. However, Veronica Colleran's excellent record of 39 minutes even remained inviolate. In contrast, Justin May had a powerful run to win the over 40s category and lower Javier Odriozola's record by over 2 minutes. Calvin Torrans also set a new over 50s record when he won that category.

		Maulin	30/06/99			
Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time	
1	169	Noel Berkeley	DSD		32.34	Record
2	355	Deon McNeilly	Newcastle AC		32.48	
3	272	Ger McGrath	DSD		35.20	
4	298	Paul Nolan	Crusaders		35.59	
5	168	Justin May	3ROC	M40	37.05	Record
6	217	Mark Doyle	Eagle M.R.C.	MJ	39.18	

7	198	Eoin Keith			39.43	
8	157	Gerry Lalor			39.58	
9	101	Simon Walters	AIB		40.22	
10	148	Henny Brandsma	Sportsworld	M40	41.33	
11	228	Fergus Brien			41.40	
12	218	Finbarr Desmond			42.00	
13	278	Paul Mahon			42.10	
14	121	David Simpson	Rathfarnham	MJ	42.28	
15	276	Cormac MacDonnchadha	Ajax/ESB		42.38	
16	286	Michael Walters	Ajax		42.53	
17	224	Patrick Casey	Crusaders		42.54	
18	187	Vincent Blake	AIB		43.02	
19	151	Claude McManmon		M40	43.04	
20	245	Paul Cullen			43.28	
21	271	Laura McGinley	Raheny	F	43.36	
22	116	Joan Flanagan	Ajax	F	43.47	
23	250	Martin Flynn	Ajax		44.16	
24	115	Calvin Torrans		M50	44.18	Record
25	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		44.34	
26	202	5	Clonliffe	M50	45.02	
27	161	Vivian O'Gorman		M40	45.17	
28	215	Richard Church			45.19	
29	109	Dermot Bates	AIB		45.23	
30	186	Ercus Stewart	Glenasmole	M50	45.35	
31	136	Colin Burns	Ajax		45.53	
32	330	Stephen Doyle			46.03	
33	364	Seamus Murphy	M40		46.15	
34	289	Mark Gomm	Portmarnock		46.16	
35	194	Dermot O'Callaghan	AIB		46.21	
36	103	Gordon Douglas		M40	46.45	
37	385	2			46.51	
38	207	Gearóid Ó'Cathaláin	NTMA	M40	46.54	
39	314	Alan Ayling	GEN		47.06	
40	299	Donough O'Keeffe	BVOC		47.30	
41	129	Kieran Crowley	AIB		47.44	
42	204	Billy Alexander	AIB		47.48	
43	219	Gavan Doherty	GEN		48.07	

44	313	Mary O'Connell		F	48.13
45	386	Brendan O'Sullivan			48.29
46	233	Nigel Creighton			48.39
47	149	Eva Mulleady	Crusaders	F	48.47
48	346	Paul Marshall		M40	48.55
49	279	Kevin Murray		M40	49.15
50	273	Eileen Walsh	Donore Harriers	F	49.32
51	238	Alan Guinane	AIB		49.59
52	387	Christopher Kavanagh			49.60
53	223	Brian Lambe	TOCAC	MJ	50.01
54	126	Alan Dolan	Crusaders	MJ	50.08
55	203	Marian Hughes	DSD	FV	50.10
56	124	Richard Flynn	SET	M50	50.36
57	141	Peter Gargan	Ajax	M40	51.56
58	324	Jimmy O'Brien	Ajax	M50	51.58
59	119	Justin Keatinge	Ajax		52.33
60	311	Eddie O'Flynn	Eircell		52.44
61	173	Brendan Doherty	GEN	M50	52.49
62	114	Paddy Lord		M50	52.54
63	188	Danny Toye		M50	53.07
64	196	Sean Lambe		M50	53.16
65	363	Alan Daly			53.19
66	288	Kevin Smith			53.43
67	123	Joe McDonagh	AIB		54.19
68	230	David Quinn	Gen	M40	54.36
69	189	Niamh Fitzpatrick	AIB	F	54.43
70	382	Hank Fogarty	SIAC Construction	M50	55.21
71	321	Melissa O'Halloran		F	55.29
72	178	Beccy Cameron	DSD	F	56.32
73	297	Frank Murphy	Glenasmole	M40	56.51
74	138	Aine Donovan	Crusaders	F	56.57
75	274	Brendan O'Brien	Ajax		57.00
76	108	Fiona Callaghan	AIB	F	57.50
77	318	Peter Gorman	AIB		57.51
78	334	Paul Dodd		M40	57.55
79	253	Justin Rea			58.14
80	112	Richard Haskins	Bank Of Ireland	M40	58.23

81	380	Harold White		M50	58.52
82	172	Alexis Fitzgerald			59.07
83	117	Clare Glanville		F	59.14
84	281	Melanie Walsh		F	60.12
85	379	James McCusker			62.20
86	381	Michael Randall		M50	62.28
87	312	Felicia Long	AIB	F	62.46
88	255	Willie O'Gorman	Portmarnock	M50	64.12
89	110	Vera Quinlan		F	65.39
90	177	Ger Power	3ROC	FV	66.57
91	143	James Higgins	AIB		66.57
92	332	Kieran Hennessey			67.23
93	358	Mike Gomm	Portmarnock	M60	76.14
94	165	Cormac Corrigan	Glenasmole HR		92.15
		Short Course			
1	277	Karen Guthrie	Firhouse A.C.	FJ	25.08
2	384	James Caslin		M14	32.57
3	246	Siobhan McDonnell Byrne		F14	34.53
4	383	Andrew Caslin		M14	36.53

Entries: Vivian O'Gorman, Pat Donlon

Finish: Eddie McGovern, Jane Watt, Brian Byrne, Graham Porter

Results: Justin Keatinge, Douglas Barry

Marking: Vivian O'Gorman

Web: Douglas Barry